Why the “need” of drinking while meeting friends, colleagues?

Why is it that guys “need” to drink to a point that they get drunk when they are meeting together?Asking this question to my partner led to some kind of “agitated” discussion (to put it this way :p ) but looking back, I think it was interesting.

Since almost always I’ve heard people asking me why I don’t drink and how can I have fun without drinking. I thought this would be a question you can hear when you’re in your twenties but I still hear it from people over 35. How can I have fun or enjoy an apero without having a beer? I actually think it’s pretty sad to see that some people are surprised to realize that having a Rivella can also be enough to enjoy an apero. But the fact that I don’t drink is actually not the point of my article here, it is more about trying to understand why people need this beverage to have fun. I’m not saying all the people do, but I would say a majority and I don’t think I would be far from the truth (I am not talking here about people addicted to alcohol as this is another topic according to me).

I can totally understand that a glass of wine can be very nice to have, or that any kind of alcohol can. If you think of it it’s the same as enjoying a Starbucks or a fizzy drink or even food (just to clarify before I get angry reactions from wine lovers, I am not comparing wine to a Starbucks but when you don’t like wine, I’m pretty sure the feeling you get when drinking wine can be the same as someone else drinking or eating anything that is very good taste wise, according to this person). But when you have like several glasses of wine, a few beers and maybe other drinks and you’re in a state where you can’t really think properly, I don’t see how you can enjoy anything you drink or even eat. And that’s what I don’t get. I think part of the explanation seats in the fact that people are not so happy with their lives. I mean truly happy. Drinking helps them forget for a little while their situation. I also think that the effect that alcohol has on the body and mind makes it difficult for someone who likes it to stop after starting to get dizzy. Then, alcohol is now so much in people habits that they don’t even realize that it’s actually not good health wise. And that trying to reduce it to some special events would be a good thing. Alcohol is now associated with partying, having fun. According to me this should change. Enjoying a glass of good wine or a beer can be very nice. But drinking to a point where the person isn’t actually able to enjoy it or isn’t even thirsty, where’s the enjoyment there? My partner was telling me that having a drink while meeting friends goes very well with the event. Ok, but if you meet people, it is supposed to be because you actually want to see the people, not because you want to drink right? It’s probably nice to share the drinks, like it’s nice to share a good dinner. But why then the need of overdoing it and of not being able to stop when the limit is reached? Or when you don’t even actually feel like drinking because you actually don’t need more liquid in your body? These are questions I am not able to answer to and it is one of the behaviors I do not understand.

Leave a Reply

